Types of IPv6 addresses

Three categories of IPv6 addresses exist:

  • Unicast – represents a single interface. Packets addressed to a unicast address are delivered to a single interface.
  • Anycast – identifies one or more interfaces. For example, servers that support the same function can use the same unicast IP address. Packets sent to that IP address are forwarded to the nearest server. Anycast addresses are used for load-balancing. Known as “one-to-nearest” address.
  • Multicast – represent a dynamic group of hosts. Packets sent to this address are delivered to many interfaces. Multicast addresses in IPv6 have a similar purpose as their counterparts in IPv4.


IPv6 doesn’t use the broadcast method. It has been replaced with anycast and multicast addresses.

Prerequisites for 200-301

200-301 is a single exam, consisting of about 120 questions. It covers a wide range of topics, such as routing and switching, security, wireless networking, and even some programming concepts. As with other Cisco certifications, you can take it at any of the Pearson VUE certification centers.

The recommended training program that can be taken at a Cisco academy is called Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions (CCNA). The successful completion of a training course will get you a training badge.

Full Version 200-301 Dumps

Try 200-301 Dumps Demo