Spanning Tree Protocol Part 3

Spanning tree (802.1d) also known as common spanning tree (CST) which means only one big spanning tree for all VLANs.
Where Cisco uses per vlan spanning tree (PVST+) which means running individuals spanning tree for each VLAN.

Rapid Spanning Tree Protocol

It is 802.1w which does not takes 30 seconds to shutdown or turn on loop protocol.

This protocol looks for alternate port or back-over port to turn on when primary ports gets fail.

Note: Cisco highly recommends that you run either common spanning tree or rapid spanning tree on all your switches, if you use both it will result network downtime.

As spanning tree is layer-2 protocol and if you use router between switches than you can use common spanning tree at one side and rapid at other because this message does not pass router.

STP State (802.1d)

RSTP State (802.1w)













Generic Spanning Tree to Rapid Spanning Tree

We only need one command to change the mode but it is important that you change all the switches to exact same mode. This is only one time configuration you set the mode and root bridge and you forget it.



This is all you have to do to change the mode, only one command and you are on fly.

Prerequisites for 200-301

200-301 is a single exam, consisting of about 120 questions. It covers a wide range of topics, such as routing and switching, security, wireless networking, and even some programming concepts. As with other Cisco certifications, you can take it at any of the Pearson VUE certification centers.

The recommended training program that can be taken at a Cisco academy is called Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions (CCNA). The successful completion of a training course will get you a training badge.

Full Version 200-301 Dumps

Try 200-301 Dumps Demo