IPv6 unicast addresses

Unicast addresses represent a single interface. Packets addressed to a unicast address will be delivered to a specific network interface.

There are three types of IPv6 unicast addresses:

  • global unicast – similar to IPv4 public IP addresses. These addresses are assigned by the IANA and used on public networks. They have a prefix of 2000::/3, (all the addresses that begin with binary 001).
  • unique local – similar to IPv4 private addresses. They are used in private networks and aren’t routable on the Internet. These addresses have a prefix of FD00::/8.
  • link local – these addresses are used for sending packets over the local subnet. Routers do not forward packets with this addresses to other subnets. IPv6 requires a link-local address to be assigned to every network interface on which the IPv6 protocol is enabled. These addresses have a prefix of FE80::/10.


Let’s describe each of the IPv6 unicast address type in more detail.

Prerequisites for 200-301

200-301 is a single exam, consisting of about 120 questions. It covers a wide range of topics, such as routing and switching, security, wireless networking, and even some programming concepts. As with other Cisco certifications, you can take it at any of the Pearson VUE certification centers.

The recommended training program that can be taken at a Cisco academy is called Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions (CCNA). The successful completion of a training course will get you a training badge.

Full Version 200-301 Dumps

Try 200-301 Dumps Demo