IPv6 multicast addresses

Multicast addresses in IPv6 are similar to multicast addresses in IPv4. They are used to communicate with dynamic groupings of hosts, for example all routers on the link (one-to-many distribution).

Here is a graphical representation of the IPv6 multicast packet:

multicast ipv6 address

IPv6 multicast addresses start with FF00::/8. After the first 8 bits there are 4 bits which represent the flag fields that indicate the nature of specific multicast addresses. Next 4 bits indicate the scope of the IPv6 network for which the multicast traffic is intended. Routers use the scope field to determine whether multicast traffic can be forwarded. The remaining 112 bits of the address make up the multicast Group ID.

Some of the possible scope values are:

1 – interface-local
2 – link-local
4 – admin-local
5 – site-local
8 – organization-local
E – global

For example, the addresses that begin with FF02::/16 are multicast addresses intended to stay on the local link.

The following table lists of some of the most common link local multicast addresses:

commom link local multicast addresses ipv6

Prerequisites for 200-301

200-301 is a single exam, consisting of about 120 questions. It covers a wide range of topics, such as routing and switching, security, wireless networking, and even some programming concepts. As with other Cisco certifications, you can take it at any of the Pearson VUE certification centers.

The recommended training program that can be taken at a Cisco academy is called Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions (CCNA). The successful completion of a training course will get you a training badge.

Full Version 200-301 Dumps

Try 200-301 Dumps Demo